Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Yoga for Depression & Anxiety


I have struggled with different amounts of anxiety and depression many times during my life. I was first diagnosed with depression at 17, and I don’t remember having very much anxiety back then. Now that I have been diagnosed with bipolar for close to a decade now, I have noticed throughout the years different levels of anxiety too. I used to get a lot of anxiety from large crowds and social settings. But once I got on the right medications, the anxiety went away. But, after I was diagnosed with being bipolar, I was also diagnosed with having ADHD. I was in very much in need of medication for my ADHD. I first began with Adderall, and if I took a pill without eating, forget it! I had so much anxiety I had to take 1-2 1mg Klonopin to combat the shaking and heavy breathing. A few years go by, and I am fully integrated with my Adderall and it doesn’t give me much anxiety anymore. 


Throughout the past 10 years, since being diagnosed Bipolar, I began practicing yoga. I have been doing yoga for over six years now, and it makes me feel so much better then any medication can make me feel. My background is in dance and cheerleading, so when I began yoga I was automatically good at an intermediate level going on advanced. For a few years, I even wanted to become a yoga instructor. But my shoulder had problems from tumbling in gymnastics, so I couldn’t pursue that career. But the yoga I did made me feel so incredible after every session. I loved the high after it was all done. It can be a very euphoric experience if and/or when you understand the breath, and breathing through motions. I think everyone should try yoga, especially those suffering with depression and anxiety. Yoga has stopped my anxiety due to all of the breathing you do during a series. Yoga brings me back to my normal state of mind and even a relaxed state.





*Essential Oils are always a good idea to use to help the stress go away! Tip- USE A DIFFUSER WHILE DOING YOUR YOGA


Comments on: "Yoga for Depression & Anxiety" (9)

  1. As a Newbie, I am continuously searching online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rattling fantastic visual appeal on this website, I’d rate it 10.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this blog so much, bookmarked.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I believe this web site holds very superb written subject matter content.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Super-Duper website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Usually I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post! I have always turned to yoga to help combat my anxiety. Lovely blog. Jess x https://petitepoodle.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. katiereablog said:

    This is a post that I can definitely relate to. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am following your blog so that I can read more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

