Bipolar and Mental Illnesses are written about here. Written by a bipolar person themselves.

Arthritis Pill Helps Increase Effect of Your Antidepressant


I’ve heard of people taking medications, and having other issues resolved, issues that the drug was not originally  intended to help. I am bipolar, so I can’t take anti-depressants or else I will get rapid cycling and become manic. It not a pretty picture. And I had to learn the hard way, which was by having a horrible doctor, who somehow “Specialized” in bipolar, put me on anti-depressants and I became a crazy person. It took a while for changes to occur, but once I started having rapid-cycling, I was no longer myself. I decided I wasn’t going to take it anymore, so I saw a new doctor, one who has saved my life and made me whole again. By getting me on bipolar medications, such as Abilify, I have regained my sanity and once again I feel like I am contributing to society by being able to work. After being diagnosed, it took close to 10 years to feel like my old self. Luckily, I have not had an episode in close to two years now. But I do know what it feels like to have your medications begin to work better than they normally do, and that always makes you question if everything’s ok, and if you’re actually alright. This article is hope for those taking anti-depressants and think they need more, this might be it. 

*Arthritis drug boosts effectiveness of antidepressant medication

Summary:

  • “Giving severely depressed patients the arthritis drug celecoxib (Celebrex®) dramatically boosted the effectiveness of their antidepressant medication, a Loyola study has found.”


“The eight-week study enrolled bipolar adults, aged 18 to 65, who were in the depressive phase of their disease and had not benefitted from an antidepressant. (Bipolar disorder is marked by alternating periods of elation and depression, with depression typically lasting longer.) Patients were randomly assigned to receive the antidepressant escitalopram (Lexapro®) plus celecoxib or Lexapro plus a placebo.”

“Seventy-eight percent of the patients in the celecoxib group experienced at least a 50 percent reduction in their depression scores, with 63 percent reporting their depression had gone away completely. By comparison, only 45 percent of the placebo group recorded a 50 percent or more reduction in depression, with only 10 percent reporting their depression had lifted completely.”

“It typically takes four to six weeks before an antidepressant begins working. In the Loyola study, patients who took celecoxib began seeing a benefit from their antidepressant within a week. Fifty-five patients completed the study: 31 in the Lexapro plus celecoxib group and 24 in the Lexapro plus placebo group.”

“Previous studies have found that depression revs up the immune system, resulting in chronic inflammation. This inflammatory response affects the normal balance of chemical messengers in the brain called neurotransmitters. Inflammation hinders the function of antidepressants that are designed to restore normal chemical balance. By fighting inflammation, celecoxib appears to make antidepressants more effective, Dr. Halaris said.”


“Celecoxib is used to treat pain, redness, swelling and inflammation from arthritis. It also can manage acute pain and menstrual cramps. By itself, it does not treat depression.”

“The study’s findings support the hypothesis that inflammation plays a critical role in depression. Reducing inflammation with a drug such as celecoxib “reverses treatment resistance and enhances overall antidepressant response,” Dr. Halaris wrote in the study. “Such an intervention, if implemented relatively early in the course of the disease, may arrest the neuroprogressive course of bipolar disorder.””


Source: Antidepressant Works Better

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

